1979 Kawasaki KX125A5 VMX ready

Discussion in 'For Sale & Wanted' started by Beefa, Oct 18, 2011.

1. Beefa

Beefa Active Member

Due to another commitment, time to go my old mate. I'd rather see if any of our mob is interested before I put it on Fleabay.

The story : Back in the eighties, I worked as a Bike Salesman and Parts interpreter for a few different shops and worked with most major brands.

In '89 I was working at a Kawasaki Dealer and I knew a young bloke who had an A5 since new but blew the motor after around 5 hours (from new) The quote to rebuild it back then was more than the bike cost new. It even had the original tyres and chain and sprokets when I got it. So it was parked beside the shed and left to rot. Long story, but I ended up buying it for not much money. Picked it up took it home and completely dismantled every bolt and nut.

Barrel sent to Serco for a new Sleeve and Wisco kit. Crankshaft was rebuilt using genuine conrod kit and bearings. The conrod kit back then was $385 that's was more than a weeks pay!. Every bearing and seal were replaced, clutch plates, wheel bearings, steering head bearings, cables, brake shoes, tyres etc.

I had all the work done but due to a house move, took about 12 years to put it back together. Sat in boxes in the shed for all that time. Eventually put it all back together around 2002. Rode it twice for a total of about an hour, flipped it doing a 1st gear balance wheelie busted acl and never rode it again.